The new 10-year global change research initiative, Future Earth, will have a new secretariat with a structure that spans three continents, as announced by the International Council for Science on behalf of the members of the Science and Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability (the Alliance).

The new secretariat comprises of five global hubs which which will function as a single entity. Hubs are located in Canada (Montreal), France (Paris), Japan (Tokyo), Sweden (Stockholm) and the United States (Colorado). The new secretariat aims to be operational by the end of 2014.

The preferred bidder is an international consortium of several lead organisations: Montreal International (Montreal, Canada), the Ministry of Higher Education and Research (Paris, France), the Science Council of Japan (Tokyo, Japan), Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Stockholm Sweden), and in Colorado, USA, the University of Colorado (Boulder) and Colorado State University (Fort Collins). This is complemented by regional hubs co-ordinated by the Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research (for Latin America), the Research Institute for Humanity and Nature (for Asia), the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research (for Europe) and The Cyprus Institute (for the Middle East and North Africa). Discussions to develop an African hub are underway, with plans in other regions also under consideration.

For more information, see Future Earth.

Back to Top
Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.